Blackboard Scribe

Die-hard SoulPancake fans will know that the task I am referring to in this post is actually Sidewalk Scribe (pg.5). Unfortunately, due to weather conditions, I could not find a clean or dry sidewalk to chalk up.

Weather, shm-eather.

Step 1: Sum up your personal philosophy on life.

Step 2: Acquire chalk.

Step 3: Find pavement a blackboard.

Step 4: Bust out your pseudo-inner-vandal and scrawl your message for the world next class to see.

After my evening class I wandered into an empty classroom with a large empty board and a big piece of chalk (don’t you just hate the little pieces?).

I had spent the previous class period looking up inspirational quotes appropriate for the classroom. This one by Johann Gottfried Von Herder, a German philosopher (and heartthrob), caught my eye.

“Without inspiration the best powers of the mind remain dormant, there is a fuel in us which needs to be ignited with sparks.

I’m feeling that Johann.

I am hoping that the sleepy students who walked into that room at 8:00 am saw my work and felt motivated and empowered. Or the teacher promptly erased the message, replacing it with POP QUIZ, which I am sure would have the adverse effect. I guess I’ll never know…


Now, it’s your turn, find a sidewalk or blackboard and scribble away!

No chalk?

Comment with a quote that describes YOUR personal philosophy, and I’ll scribe it somewhere on campus. Looking forward to hearing from you!

7 Comments

Filed under SoulPancake, the brain & the soul

7 responses to “Blackboard Scribe

  1. Nothing better than, or more inspiring than random acts of “awesome”
    Well done Alyssa – you’ve motivated me today!

  2. I can’t lie, your blog is one of my guilty pleasures. I’ve been secretly stalking it since you launched it, but I have resisted the urge to comment until now.

    Inspirational quotes are one of my guilty pleasures. (Yes, I have a lot.) I have the decorative inspirational quotes calendars, all kinds of postcards and stationary sets, and whenever I see I quote I like, I feel the need to write it on whatever is closest to me– notebook, textbook, piece of paper, my arm, the wall.. you get it.

    Anywho, my current life philosophy is “today is life, tomorrow never comes.” I don’t know where or when I found it, but it’s constantly running through my head. Whenever I don’t want to do something, I remind myself that tomorrow may never come, and that’s the push I need.

    PS- keep serving up your Karma Waffles.. I’ve got a huge appetite :)

  3. Pingback: Blackboard Scribe II | KarmaWaffle

  4. Lynnie

    ALYSSA- BEFORE AN INSPIRING QUOTE I MUST ASK YOU AN INTRIGUING QUESTION- WHY ARE YOU (AND THIS BLOG) SO AWESOME?
    “peace. it does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble or hard work. it means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.” (unknown)

    :-)

  5. Pingback: Whiteboard (?) Scribe | KarmaWaffle

  6. Pingback: Whiteboard Scribe II | KarmaWaffle

Leave a Reply

