Urge To Purge

Confession: I get anxiety when my things aren’t in order.

I can’t do work in my room if there is laundry on the floor.

I hate to cook in my kitchen if there are crumbs on the counter/dirty dishes in the sink.

I can’t go through my inbox if there are more than 20 items lined up.

I hate playing Tetris with everything in the fridge just to find the milk.

And I most certainly can’t create enlightening bits of brilliance for KarmaWaffle at my desk if there are papers strewn about.

Sidenote: While writing this I’m sharing a table in the library with 5 other people and I have an overwhelming urge to put all their papers in stacks, line up all of the laptop cords, and set our chairs equidistantly, but I digress…

I was happy to see that SoulPancake had this Urge To Purge challenge (pg.97).

Your Mission:
Get rid of something ( or a stack of somethings) that you
should have thrown out a long time ago.
Repeat as necessary.

What is great about this challenge is that it’s about detachment, not letting things build up, releasing our connection to possessions.This concept brings me back to the philosophy of Tyler Durden. Here I am again, looking to fictional characters for life guidance, I should really read more.

“The things you own end up owning you,” well said Tyler.

My things just end up owning that space underneath my bed, or the back right corner of my closet, or the back seat of my car, but you get the point. Although I keep my things in a deliberate,organized chaos, my mother has always referred to my living space as a (surprise) pig sty.

So let go with me, and purge, purge, purge!

I promised an update, so here it is. A friend of mine (with a admirable t-shirt collection) did a long overdue closet purge. She was kind enough to share her progress…

Great work (and don’t think I didn’t notice those t-shirts are now stacked by color)! Thanks for the help, purge on.

5 Comments

Filed under SoulPancake, virtues & vices

5 responses to “Urge To Purge

  1. Jeanette Zaccheo

    This is perfect! We just sold the house in Ramsey and now we definitely have to purge!

  2. Pingback: Soul Scribble | KarmaWaffle

  3. cara

    No doubt I’ll be doing this when I move out of my current room. As for now, my papers are in files by subject, and every shirt in my room is folded. Seems like the obssesive clothes gene is genetic…

  4. Pingback: Urge To Purge II : Mini Purge | KarmaWaffle

  5. danielle

    Purging my room after returning from abroad was the only thing that kept me sane! The day after I got back I was facing some serious withdrawal symptoms, so rather than sulking I decided to emotionally eat…a plate of karmawaffles! I cleaned out my closets (to make room for my new European wardrobe) and totally reorganized my entire bedroom in preparation for my permanent move back into my parent house *queue depressing music*. I have to say that it totally took my mind off of my post-abroad depression and my room is looking pretty sweet right now!

Leave a Reply

