What is Your Weird?

rit·u·al [rich-oo-uhl] –noun

1. any practice or pattern of behavior regularly performed in a set manner, religious or otherwise
2. a prescribed codes of behavior regulating social conduct, as exemplified by the raising of one’s hat or the shaking of hands in greeting.
3. Psychiatry. a specific act, as hand-washing, performed repetitively to a pathological degree, occurring as a common symptom of obsessive-compulsive neurosis.
(courtesy of: http://www.soulpancake.com/post/1215/whats-your-weird.html)

SoulPancake asks us…

List 3 of your rituals that set you apart from the rest.

When I saw this question I thought back to an old Sex and The City episode, where Carrie realizes she has certain rituals she feels uncomfortable performing in front of her boyfriend who had recently moved in. She dubs these, “secret single behaviors,” and investigates. Listen to what she finds…

Moral: It’s weird, but it feels great!

After some thought these are some of my ritual behaviors:

1. Whenever  I go into a bathroom  I always lock the door.

1b. If that bathroom has a shower, I always look behind the curtain.

2. I only eat food at their proper temperatures: Cold pizza? Warm milk? I’ll pass.

3. I paint my nails constantly, and as soon as there is a chip I have to chip off all the polish on that nail, and then all the polish on that hand.


See? 3 down, 7 to go.

I showed you my “weird,” now show me yours…

What are your rituals?

Yours in waffles,
Alyssa

4 Comments

Filed under introspection, reflection & identity, SoulPancake, the brain & the soul, virtues & vices

4 responses to “What is Your Weird?

  1. Brooke

    My wEiRdSs:
    1. On all runs (no matter how long or short), I chew a piece of gum for the entire duration.
    2. Each night before I go to sleep (or at the latest, first thing in the morning), I make a list of things I need to accomplish for the next day.
    3. Whenever I am alone in the house at night, I always have a candle lit.

  2. Olivia B.

    Let me start off by saying that there is plenty of weird that goes on inside this pretty little head of mine (yes– I did just compliment myself on the world wide web). So world, here is my list of SSB (thank you Carrie Bradshaw, c/o the Waffle Maker herself).

    1. Considering the fact that I am still living in the pre-2007 world, I’m yet to join the smart phone revolution. Having said this, it’s necessary for my to check my e-mail via PC/ laptop/ stealing smart phones from friends (I know.. how vintage of me). The process always goes:
    Gmail
    Foxmail
    Hotmail
    Facebook
    Post Secret (exclusively on Sundays complete with my morning cup of coffee).

    Any deviation from this process gives me anxiety.

    2. My math homework always comes in three steps: scribbling furiously on multiple legal pads, re-scribbling said problems less furiously and more legibly on fewer legal pads, finally typing my problem set to look presentable and less insane-mathy (think John Nash in A Beautiful Mind).

    3. The drive from class back home consists of two turns and a straight-away. However, most days I always drive all the way up Fulton, down Violet Ave. and back home via West Cedar just so I can finish rocking out to the Boss, Bruce Springsteen himself.

  3. Pingback: Trivial Pursuits | KarmaWaffle

Leave a Reply

